Advisory Board

The award recipient is selected by an Advisory Board, which is made up of individuals from science, industry, politics, and the press. Current board members include:

Jürgen Kaube

Editor of the Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung (FAZ)

Born on June 19, 1962, as a Swabian in Worms am Rhein. Obtained his Abitur (university entrance qualification) from the Justus-Liebig-Gymnasium in Darmstadt. Studied Philosophy, German Studies and Art History, followed by – as a Romantic addendum – Economics at Freie Universität Berlin.

Information about Jürgen Kaube

Dr.-Ing. Volker Kefer

President of VDI, the Association of German Engineers

Dr. Volker Kefer, verheiratet und Vater von zwei Kindern, wurde am 19. Januar 1956 in Koblenz geboren. Von 1975 bis 1977 studierte er Elektrotechnik an der TU Erlangen, anschließend von 1977 bis 1982 Maschinenbau an der TU München, wo er als Diplom-Ingenieur abschloss. 1989 promovierte er zum Dr.-Ing. an der TU München.

Information about Dr.-Ing. Volker Kefer

Elke Lücke

Head of Human Resources and Talent Strategy, Porsche AG

Elke Lücke, born in Hannover in 1961, studied Economics and has more than 25 years of experience in human resources. She began her career at Volkswagen AG.

Information about Elke Lücke

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Marquardt

Chair of the Board of Forschungszentrum Jülich

Professor Dr. Achim Bachem was Chairman of the Board of Forschungszentrum Jülich between October 1, 2006, and June, 30, 2014. Professor Bachem was a Member of the Board at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) from 1996 to 2002 and a German delegate at the European Space Agency, ESA (1998-2002).

Information about Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Marquardt

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Prof. E. h. Dr.-Ing. E.h. mult. Dr. h.c. mult. Reimund Neugebauer

President of the Fraunhofer Society

Professor Reimund Neugebauer was born on June 27, 1953, in Thuringia, Germany. He studied Mechanical Engineering at Dresden University of Technology and received his doctoral degree in 1984. In 1989, he obtained his post-doctoral lecturing qualification (Habilitation). In October 2012, he was appointed president of the Fraunhofer Society.

Information about Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Prof. E. h. Dr.-Ing. E.h. mult. Dr. h.c. mult. Reimund Neugebauer

Stefanie Peters

Executive Managing Partner, NEUMAN & ESSER

Stefanie Peters is an executive managing partner at NEUMAN & ESSER Holding, a midsized family business and leader in technology in the production of compressors.

Information about Stefanie Peters

Isabel Pfeiffer-Poensgen

NRW Minister for Culture and Science

Former Science Minister Svenja Schulze was born in Düsseldorf in 1968. She studied German Studies and Political Science in Bochum and completed her university degree in 1968. Between 1993 and 1997, Schulze was Chairwoman of the NRW Social Democrat Youth Association, Jusos.

Information about Isabel Pfeiffer-Poensgen

Marcel Philipp

Mayor of the City of Aachen

Marcel Philipp has been Mayor of the City of Aachen since October 21, 2009. Furthermore, he is Member of the Board of the Association of Cities in NRW (Städtetag NRW) and Member of the Supervisory Boards of the companies EVA, STAWAG, ASEAG, and regio iT GmbH Aachen. Also, he is Chair of the Administrative Board of Sparkasse Aachen.

Information about Marcel Philipp

Reiner Priggen

Former Member of the Landtag, Green Party Member of the NRW State Parliament, Initiator of the Award

Reiner Priggen, born in 1953, studied Mechanical Engineering at RWTH Aachen. He has been a member of the Green Party (Die Grünen) since 1984. Between 1994 and 2000, he was Spokesperson for the NRW State Chapter of Bündnis 90/Die Grünen.

Information about Reiner Priggen

Prof. Dr. Ernst Schmachtenberg

Former Rector of RWTH Aachen University

Ernst Schmachtenberg studied Mechanical Engineering at RWTH Aachen and completed his doctorate in 1985 at the RWTH Institute of Plastics Processing (IKV). After working at IKV as a research assistant and head of division until 1988, he became Head of Research and Develpoment at the officially certified research and testing centre of Süddeutsches Kunststoff-Zentrum (SKZ), Würzburg, where he was also member of the Management Board.

Information about Prof. Dr. Ernst Schmachtenberg